Mary Matha Arts and Science College-History

Mary Matha Arts & Science College, a degree college run by the Catholic Diocese of Mananthavady, symbolizes the realization of the dreams and aspirations of the people of North Wayanad. It was sanctioned by the Government of Kerala on the recommendation of the University of Calicut in response to the demands of the people. His Excellency Rt. Rev. Dr. Jacob Thoomkuzhy, the then Bishop of Mananthavady, was kind enough to take upon himself the onerous task of establishing and managing this institution. The college was formally inaugurated on 23rd October 1995. When Kannur University came into existence in 1996, the college became affiliated to it.
His Excellency Rt. Rev. Dr. Emmanuel Pothanamuzhy was consecrated as the Bishop of the Diocese in 1997. As the founder Principal of Christ College, Bangalore, he had long years of experience as a teacher and administrator. His vision and commitment to academic excellence were guiding beacons in our institution's efforts to achieve its social and educational goals. His Excellency passed away in 2003 and subsequently His Excellency Rt. Rev. Dr. Jose Porunnedom was consecrated as the Bishop of Mananthavady.

From 1996 onwards the college functions in a new building situated in a scenic hilltop campus on the Mananthavady-Mysore road. Right from the inception of the college, Dr. K.T. Varkey was the Principal. After his retirement in March 2002, Rev. Fr. Dr. James Maruthukunnel (CMI), former Principal, St. Joseph’s College, Devagiri, Kozhikode was the Principal during 2002-06.Now after his retirement in March 2006 ,Dr. Raju George, Reder in English, Marian College , Kuttikkanam, assumed office as the Principal.

Very Rev. Msgr. Joseph Kaniamattam was the first Manager of our college. After that Rev. Msgr. George Njaralakatt, the Vicar General of the Diocese of Mananthavady, is the Second Manager.Presently Rev.Fr.Jose Kocharackal ,the Syncellus, Education Department of the Diocese of Mananthavady is the Manager.



Mar Jacob Thoomkuzhy 1995 - 1996

Mar Emmanuel Pothanamoozhy 1997 - 2003


Msgr. Joseph Kaniyamattam 1995 - 1997

Msgr. George Njarlakatt 1997 - 2006


Dr. K.T. Varkey 1995 - 2002

Rev.Fr. Dr. James Maruthukunnel(CMI) 2002 - 2006